Exactly twenty years ago, on 7th of February, in 1992 the leaders of Germany, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Greece, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal and Britain  gathered in a small Dutch city of Maastricht and by signing the treaty, they started building up what is now called the European Union. 

As the result of ratification, Maastricht Treaty led to the creation of Euro and established the three pillars of the EU. Worth mentioning that once Margaret Tatcher called the treaty "A recipe for national suicide'. In fact, the past twenty years were the most successful in the EU's history and I'd further wish deeper integration, widening and less nationalistic interests within the Member States..


Post a Comment